Noodle's Workshop

Crafting, cooking and baking tips for today's woman

Gluten Free Bread? Yuck!!! April 17, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nickety Split @ 8:45 pm

I can't tell you the sheer amount of gluten free bread products that I have tried. I am not even sure you can call them food. Most brands I have tried are crumbly and weigh about 15 pounds a loaf! Or the worst yet is when you make a delicious burger with all the tasty fixings and they end up all over your plate with the crumbled mushed bun!


So my secret to a great burger, sandwich, or PB & J toast? Udi's bread products! Now I can't promise that it will 100% fill your wheaty bread cravings but it gets the job done and tastes good. Hey it even turns brown when you toast it!

You can find Udi's at most grocery stores. I usually buy it at Save on Foods (in the freezer section of the bakery) or Superstore (in the natural foods isle freezer). Don't worry when I say it's in the freezer! I leave mine in the freezer until I need it and just zap it in the microwave for 15-25 seconds to defrost.

So the husband is away on business this week and I really didn't want to eat left overs again so I decided to make a sandwich for dinner. We have a great farmers market that specializes in gluten free meats that are all made in house, antibiotic and hormone free. It's called Lepps farm market in Abbotsford. So with a zap of the microwave I made myself a gluten free chicken, cheese, lettuce, pickle, mayo and mustard sandwich on an Udi's gluten free whit bagel. Yum!


 

 

Leave a Reply

